Dispersed Two-Phase Flows (5th edition)


The objective of the conference is to bring together researchers from different communities (academics and researchers from industrial research institutes in fluid mechanics, chemical engineering, …) working on fundamental problems involving dispersed flows.

Contributions of work in progress are welcome. This conference is international and will be held in english. 

It will last three days (July 8-10th, 2024) and will consist in selected oral presentations (~15 to 20 minutes) and poster sessions, with several thematic sessions in series. Extra time outside the formal session will be dedicated to discussions between participants.

The event will be exclusively held in English / Cet évènement sera organisé entièrement en anglais.


Event presentation

In many industrial or environmental situations, particles, drops or bubbles are dispersed in a carrier fluid.

Understanding and modeling dispersed flows is therefore a major issue for many applications including chemical engineering (bubble columns, water treatment, fluidized beds, oil refining), nuclear industry (boiling in steam generators, containment spray systems), environmental engineering (sediment transport, coastal erosion, river restauration), geophysics (volcanic processes, fluid migration in sedimentary basins), astrophysics (protoplanetary dust, planet formation) and combustion applications (atomization, spray combustion).

Complementary Program

Monday evening: Visit of experimental facilities of LEMTA (click for more informations)
Tuesday evening: Gala Dinner at Opera National de Lorraine on Place Stanislas (click to see localisation)


Experimental, numerical and theoretical studies will be presented on the following topics :

  • Dynamics and transfer around isolated particles
  • Interfacial dynamics (deformation, coalescence and rupture)
  • Hydrodynamics of dispersed flows (turbulence, dispersion, two-way coupling)
  • Mixing, transfers and phase-change in dispersed flows
  • Transport in dispersed flows at high volume fraction
  • Complex dispersed flows: density/viscosity stratification, granular & non-Newtonian flows
  • Development of experimental methods
  • Development of numerical methods
  • Multiscale, multiphysics modeling
  • Deep-learning and multiphase flow

Keynote Conferences

  • Pr. Markus Uhlmann (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Pr. Filippo Coletti, (ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Dr. Konstantin Mikityuk (Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland)
    • Dr. Pascal Fede (IMFT, Toulouse, France)
    • Dr. Romain Volk (Laboratoire de Physique, ENS Lyon, France)

Local Organizing Committee (LEMTA, CNRS / Université de Lorraine)

  • Boris Arcen
  • Yvan Dossmann
  • Adrien Gans
  • Michel Gradeck
  • Sébastien Kiesgen de Richter
  • Nicolas Louvet
  • Rabah Mehadi
  • Christel Métivier
  • Nicolas Rimbert
  • Anne Tanière

Event coordinators

Nicolas Rimbert (LEMTA) and Véronique Roig (IMFT)

Scientific & Technical Committee

  • Agathe Chouippe, (ICUBE, CNRS/Université de Strasbourg/INSA/ENGEES)
  • Aurore Naso, (LMFA, École Centrale de Lyon/CNRS/Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1)
  • Christian Marchioli, (University of Udine, Italy)
  • Daniel Fuster, (Institut Jean Le Rond d’Alembert, Sorbonne Université/CNRS)
  • Denis Funfschilling, (ICUBE, CNRS/Université de Strasbourg/INSA/ENGEES)
  • Diether Bothe, (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
  • Emmanuel Porcheron, (IRSN, Saclay)
  • Eric Lajeunesse, (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Université Paris Cité/CNRS)
  • Fabien Candellier, (IUSTI, CNRS/Aix-Marseille Université)
  • Gauthier Verhille, (IRPHE, Aix-Marseille Université/CNRS/École Centrale Marseille)
  • Guillaume Bois, (CEA Saclay)
  • Hui-Zhi Li, (LRGP, CNRS/Université de Lorraine)
  • Javier Ruiz-Rus, (University of Jaen, Spain)
  • Jean Philippe Matas, (LMFA, École Centrale de Lyon/CNRS/Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1)
  • Jean Sébastien Kroll-Rabotin, (Institut Jean Lamour, CNRS/Université de Lorrain)
  • Jean-Régis Angilella, (ABTE, Normandie Université)
  • Mathieu Guingo, (EDF, Chatou)
  • Mickael Bourgoin, (Laboratoire de Physique, CNRS/ENS Lyon)
  • Nathalie Seiler, (CEA Cadarache)
  • Nathanaël Machicoane, (LEGI, CNRS/Grenoble INP, Université Grenoble-Alpes)
  • Panagiota Angeli, (University College London)
  • Rainier Hreiz, (LRGP, CNRS/Université de Lorraine)
  • Sander Huisman, (University of Twente, Netherlands)
  • Stéphane Mimouni, (EDF, Chatou)
  • Véronique Roig, (IMFT, CNRS/Toulouse INP/Université Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier)
  • Yan Delaure, (Dublin City University, Ireland)



Abstract deadline

May 15, 2024

Abstract selection

June 01, 2024

Final program

June 15, 2024

Inscriptions au séminaire (Construire) Le futur de l’eau dans la transition écologique

Nos manifestations entrent dans le cadre de la formation professionnelle continue !

N’hésitez pas à nous demander une convention de formation via notre formulaire de contact.
(n° Formateur 11 75 02902 75)



Nos manifestations entrent dans le cadre de la formation professionnelle continue

N’hésitez pas à nous demander une convention de formation via notre formulaire de contact.
(n° Formateur/Agreement number 11 75 02902 75)